Alberta On Record Committee

The Alberta on Record (AOR) Committee is responsible for advising the Board on issues related to the AOR Database.

Current members are Vino Vipulanantharajah (Chair), Elizabeth Walker (Board representative), Cristian Udma, and Jillian Staniec.

The AOR Committee Terms of Reference will be made available soon.

Communications Committee

The Communications Committee advises the Board of Directors on issues of public awareness and advocacy and other matters which affect the operations of Alberta’s archives, archivists, and members of the Society. Major projects include overseeing Archives Week events.

Current members are Braden Cannon (Chair), Melissa McCarthy (Board representative), Judy Kovacs, and Peter Houston.

View the Communications Committee Terms of Reference (PDF).

Conference Program Committee

The Conference Program Committee is responsible for the planning, implementation, and follow-up of ASA's bi-annual conference.

Current members TBD

View the Conference Program Committee Terms of Reference (PDF).

Education Committee

The Education Committee is responsible for the development, implementation, and co-ordination of archival education programs for the membership.

Current members are Susan Stanton (Chair), Shamin Malmas (Board representative), Angie Friesen, Glynys Hohmann, and Heather Northcott.

View the Education Committee Terms of Reference (PDF).

Financial Review Committee 

The Financial Review Committee is responsible for reviewing the year-end financial records of the ASA to ensure that the Society is managing its funds in accordance with its mission and mandate.

Current members are Bonita Bjornson and Judy Kovacs.

View the Financial Review Committee Terms of Reference (PDF).

Fonds D’Archives Committee

The Fonds D’Archives Committee is responsible for advising the board on issues related to the management and maintenance of the ASA Journal Fonds D’Archives.

Current members are Michael Gourlie and Braden Cannon.

The Fonds D'Archives Committee Terms of Reference will be made available soon.

Grants Committee

The Grants Committee advises the Board of Directors on matters relating to the allocation of grants to institutional members and the establishment of criteria to determine such allocations.

Current members are Melissa McCarthy (Chair), Jennifer Rutkair, Karly Sawatzky, and Bonnie Woelk.

View the Grants Committee Terms of Reference (PDF).

Nominations and Awards Committee

The Nominations and Awards Committee is responsible for soliciting and receiving nominations for elections of Officers, determining the eligibility of nominees, informing nominees of their duties, distribution of ballot papers and electoral information at the AGM, conducting ballots, adjudicating and recommending applications for awards and honorary members to the Board of Directors, recommending new awards to the Board of Directors, and developing terms of reference and forms of recognitions for awards. 

Current members are Leslie Latta (Chair) Sara King (Current Board member), and Vino Vipulanantharajah (Member at large).

View the Nominations and Awards Committee Terms of Reference (PDF).