Board of Directors

The Archives Society of Alberta’s Board of Directors is governed by the provisions of the Alberta Societies Act, the ASA’s bylaws, and other legislation applicable to not-for-profit societies. The Board of Directors consists of six positions: President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, Institutional Member-at-Large, and Individual Member-at-Large.

Our Current Board

Valla McLean, President

Valla is the University Archivist and the History, Classics, Philosophy, and Languages librarian at MacEwan University. She also teaches courses on records management and archives to students in the Library and Information Technology diploma program at the university. She has an undergraduate degree in History, a Master of Archival Studies, and a Master of Library and Information Studies from the University of British Columbia.

Erin Hoar, Vice President

Erin Hoar is an Archivist for the United Farmers Historical Society in Calgary. She completed an MLIS at the University of Alberta and is a current Cultural Resource Management student at the University of Victoria. She has previously worked at a number of museums and cultural institutions including the University of Alberta Archives and Museums, the Historic Resources Management Branch, and Alberta Aviation Museum. Erin has served on various Boards and committees including with the Alberta Museums Association, Edmonton Regional Heritage Fair and was VP and President of the U of A's Library and Information Studies Students' Association.  

Melissa McCarthy, Secretary

Melissa McCarthy (not the actress!) has been Reference Archivist at the City of Edmonton Archives since 2013. Before that, she was Archives Advisor for the Council of Archives New Brunswick for six years. She has a Masters in History from the University of Toronto and a Master of Library and Information Studies from Dalhousie University. Her professional interests include government records, access and privacy issues, and the impact of technologies on archives and their users.

Jason Nisenson, Treasurer

Jason Nisenson is Assistant Archivist in the department of Special Collections at the University of Calgary.  His primary role is serving as archivist at the Military Museums Library and Archives, which is a branch library of the University of Calgary.  Prior to this, he was the McLuhan Project Librarian at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library in Toronto.  He has a Masters of Information (MI) degree from the University of Toronto and a Masters of English and Performance Studies (MA) degree from the University of Guelph. 

Peter Houston, Institutional Member-at-Large

Peter Houston is an Associate Professor and Archivist at Mount Royal University, where he leads the Archives and Special Collections. He has previously worked in the archives of Nipissing University in North Bay, Ontario, and the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada in Winnipeg. Peter holds a Master of Archival Studies (MAS) degree from the University of British Columbia and a Master of Arts degree in history from the University of Toronto.

Jordan Roy, Individual Member-at-Large

Jordan Roy is a recent graduate of the Archival Studies Masters program at the University of Manitoba. He has worked for two years as a museum assistant at the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame and Museum, spent a summer working at the University of Manitoba Archives and Special Collections, and more recently completed an internship with Library and Archives Canada. He is currently working as a volunteer with the Provincial Archives of Alberta.